top of page

Thursday is TRASH day...

Thursday is TRASH day... And it SUCKS.

Ok, Maybe it doesn't really suck, but its not like its a lot of fun. So a long time ago, I changed my consumption habits simply because I hate taking out the trash... my son hates taking out the trash... no one likes taking out the trash...

This simple solution worked. I consume less now and don't have to roll the bin out to the street as often. A simple, elegant and effective way to remove a slight irritation from daily life.

In the same way, I have taken action to remove my 'Digital Footprint' trash... probably not all of it, but I make efforts to clean up my digital tracks a few times a year...

And what I have found works the best is...

Consume less online and there is less to remove later. Don't get me wrong, I use the internet everyday, but honestly... over the years opinions change, accounts change... perhaps what I believed in the past is not what I believe today...

Perhaps what I have done in the past is not what I want everyone to know tomorrow.

Consider that what you do online really is your business. Do you want to share that with everyone forever? Maybe some of it, but not all of it.

So take some time, however annoying it may be, to take out your digital garbage. Three things you can do today?

1 - Automatically set your browsers to delete history and update your settings to reduce the amount of cookies left on your computer by sites you visit.

2 - Remove all old accounts for email and websites you no longer use. Go further and request that those sites remove and destroy all the associated data... they wont all do it, but ask anyway.

3 - Consume less online and get back into life. Its that simple and its very rewarding.

And really... who needs all the old trash laying about? No one. To learn more about this and other topics...

Subscribe to our video series '60 Seconds on Security' below...

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwnhN0zkMmOZc7alzgR9s1Q


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page